Loper Lecture in Public Service Broadcasting: David Fanning, Frontline & Ernest J. Wilson III, Corporation for Public Broadcasting

fanningp.jpgUSC Annenberg School for Communication and the Center on Communication Leadership & Policy present the annual Loper Lecture in Public Service Broadcasting. This year’s honoree is David Fanning, founder and executive producer of Frontline, the weekly PBS series that remains as the only regularly scheduled investigative documentary series on television. Frontline has won every major award in broadcast journalism, including 39 Emmys and a special Emmy Award for excellence in documentary filmmaking; 23 duPont-Columbia University Awards; 13 Peabody Awards; and 10 Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards. This year’s program also honors Dean Ernest J. Wilson III, who has been elected Chairman of the Board of the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, the non-profit corporation created by Congress in 1967 to support public broadcasting. CPB is the largest single source of funding for public television and radio programming and invests in more than 1,000 local radio and television stations. Reception follows program.

RSVP required. To RSVP, click hereĀ 3:00 p.m. Davidson Continuing Education Conference Center.