DII Events

Future of Tech Commission Town Hall


On June 9, 2021, CCLP Director Geoffrey Cowan hosted a virtual town hall with USC Annenberg Dean Willow Bay and Common Sense Media Founder and CEO and Future of Tech Commission Co-Chair James P. Steyer.

As the Future of Tech Commission creates an inclusive tech policy for the country, the town hall was designed to gather input from topic experts and civic leaders in Southern California on critical tech challenges and opportunities facing America’s economy, democracy, children and families.  The discussion addressed privacy and safety, digital well-being, and hate speech and misinformation.

California Lieutenant Governor Eleni Kounalakis delivered opening remarks. Topic experts included Security Expert In Residence Marc AmbinderDr. Hina Talib, MD, and Assistant Professor of Communication Lindsay Erin Young.

Participants at the Future of Tech Commission Town Hall on June 9, 2021.

As an independent and bipartisan working group, the Future of Tech Commission expects to release a comprehensive blueprint and clear call to action for the Biden administration, federal, state and local policymakers, business leaders, schools, and the general public shaped by community feedback and your ideas.


Digital Inclusion: USC D.E.I. Week


On March 9, we hosted a session on Digital Inclusion as part of USC’s 2021 Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Week.

In line with the focus of this year’s DEI Week on race and social justice, this session examined how increased digitization and the resulting gaps in digital access have exacerbated existing racial disparities. Panelists drew on their specific areas of expertise to explore the racial dimensions of the digital divide.

Event host:



USC Digital Inclusion Stakeholder Roundtable

On February 26, 2021, we hosted the USC Digital Inclusion Stakeholder Roundtable, which gathered faculty and staff from across the university, as well as outside experts, to discuss how broadband affects their respective topic areas.


Participants at the USC Digital Inclusion Stakeholder Roundtable on February 26, 2021.




Bill Allen: Chief Executive Officer of the Los Angeles County Economic Development Corporation and its subsidiary, the World Trade Center Los Angeles

Alan Arkatov: Katzman/Ernst Chair in Educational Entrepreneurship, Technology, and Innovation

Francois Bar: Professor of Communication; Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs

Geoffrey Baum: Chief Communications Officer for the Gary Michelson Philanthropy, The Michelson 20MM Foundation, and the Michelson Medical Research Foundation; Senior Policy Fellow at the Center on Communication Leadership and Policy 

Willow Bay: Dean of the USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism; Walter H. Annenberg Chair in Communication

Vint Cerf: Vice President and Chief Internet Evangelist for Google

Perren Cobb: Professor of Clinical Surgery Director of USC Critical Care Institute Director of Keck Surgical Intensive Care Unit

Geoffrey Cowan: University Professor; Annenberg Family Chair in Communication Leadership

Robert Cutietta: Dean of the Thornton School of Music and the Kaufman School of Dance

Amina Fazlullah: Director, Equity Policy at Common Sense Media

Hernan Galperin : Associate Professor of Communication; Assistant Dean for Excellence in Teaching

Geoffrey Garrett: Robert R. Dockson Dean’s Chair in Business Administration and Professor of Management and Organization

Samuel Garrison: Senior Vice President for University Relations

Randall Hill: Executive Director, Institute for Creative Technologies; Research Professor, USC Viterbi School of Engineering Computer Science Department

Carole King: Interim Associate Dean for Advancement at the USC Price School of Public Policy

Anthony Maddox: Professor of Clinical Education and Engineering

Mahta Moghaddam: Director of New Research Initiatives, Viterbi School of Engineering and Ming Hsieh Chair in Electrical and Computer Engineering-Electrophysics and Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Pedro Noguera: Emery Stoops and Joyce King Stoops Dean of the USC Rossier School of Education

Jeffrey Perlman: Clinical Assistant Professor of Law and Director, Intellectual Property & Technology Law Clinic

Hossein Pourmand: Senior Executive Director, Corporate and Foundations Relations at USC 

Adam C. Powell III: Director of Washington Programs, Center on Communication Leadership & Policy

Neeraj Sood: Professor and Vice Dean for Research at the USC Price School of Public Policy; founding member, USC Schaeffer Center 

Dorian Traube: Associate professor in the Suzanne Dworak Peck School of Social Work


Check back soon for more information about upcoming events!