Events

Virtual Programming

 

The Crisis in the State Department: Retention Trends in the Foreign Service

Monday, June 14, 2021 l 12:00 pm EDT

While the U.S. State Department is hiring diverse and talented Foreign Service Officers (FSOs), they are not retaining them. Instead, they are losing the best, and recent research supports this. Working with the American Foreign Service Association (AFSA) and the Harvard Kennedy School, a panel of speakers will present an in-depth study of retention trends in the Foreign Service that surveyed 2,853 FSOs from the State Department.

The panel will feature:

Ambassador Nicholas Burns, Roy and Barbara Goodman Family Professor of the Practice of Diplomacy and International Relations, Harvard Kennedy School

Constanza Valentina Castro Zúñiga, 2019 Rangel Fellow, Master in Public Policy 2021 candidate, Harvard Kennedy School

Mojib Ziarmal Ghaznawi, 2019 Rangel Fellow, Master in Public Policy 2021 candidate, Harvard Kennedy School, and PDC member

Caroline Juhyung Kim, 2018 Rangel Fellow, Master in Public Policy 2021 candidate, Harvard Kennedy School

The event will be a Zoom Meeting. Please RSVP by June 11, 2021, to receive log-in details.

To RSVP for this event, click HERE.

 

USC Election Cybersecurity Initiative

Regional Workshop: AZ CA HI NV

Thursday, June 17, 2021 | 4:30 p.m. ET/ 3:30 p.m. CT/ 2:30 p.m. MT/ 1:30 p.m. PT/ 1:30 a.m HT

Cybersecurity threats are evolving, and disinformation tools are changing, so our workshop presentations have been updated for 2021. In addition, we will include presentations on new security resources available from government and industry.
For more details and RSVP, please click HERE.

 

Virtual PD Monitoring Forum: : Challenges to a Free Press in Turkey, Syria, and Iraq

Friday, June 18, 2021 at 12:00 pm EDT

Featuring Turkish journalist and Al-Monitor’s senior correspondent Amberin Zaman

For more details and RSVP, please click HERE.