Faculty Fellows

chris smithChristopher Holmes Smith

Christopher Holmes Smith is a clinical assistant professor in communication at USC Annenberg, where he also serves as director of the Johnson Center for Communication Leadership.



Diane WinstonDiane Winston

Diane Winston is a national authority on religion and the media as both a journalist and a scholar. Her expertise includes religion, politics and the news media as well as religion and the entertainment media.


zfrnlzfppj_2Gerald Giaquinta

Gerald Giaquinta is a marketing consultant, corporate executive, and Assistant Professor of Clinical Management Communication at the USC Marshall School of Business.



Gordon-StablesGordon Stables

Gordon Stables is the Director of Debate and Forensics for USC’s nationally recognized Trojan Debate Squad (TDS). A Clinical Associate Professor, Gordon has been a member of the Annenberg faculty since 2002.


CaptureJack Lerner

Jack Lerner is an Assistant Clinical Professor of Law at the UC Irvine School of Law and the Director of the Intellectual Property, Arts, and Technology Clinic.



Mary Murphy

Mary Murphy is a print, television and digital journalist and a senior lecturer at USC Annenberg. Murphy has appeared on shows such as Today, Good Morning America, CNN’s Show Business Tonight and was on the staff of Entertainment Tonight and The Insider as both producer and on-air talent.

Michael-ParksMichael Parks

Michael Parks is a journalist and educator whose coverage of the struggle against apartheid in South Africa earned him the 1987 Pulitzer Prize for International Reporting. He previously served as editor of the Los Angeles Times.


Riley-PatriciaPatricia Riley

Dr. Patricia Riley is a specialist in organizational communication and internationally known for her work on institutional politics and organizational culture change.


Philip-SeibPhilip Seib

Vice Dean of the USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism, Philip Seib previously served as director of USC’s Center on Public Diplomacy. He is also a professor of journalism and public diplomacy and professor of international relations.


Roberto-SuroRoberto Suro

Roberto Suro is a veteran print journalist with extensive experience in foreign, domestic and Washington coverage as a senior staffer for the New York Times and the Washington Post. He previously served as director of the Pew Hispanic Center.


Sasha-AnawaltSasha Anawalt

Sasha Anawalt is director of the USC Annenberg Arts Journalism Programs. A faculty member of the USC Annenberg School for Communication & Journalism, she founded the Masters’ degree program in Specialized Journalism (The Arts) in 2008 and directs the Annenberg/Getty Arts Journalism Program.


Stacy-L.-SmithStacy L. Smith

Stacy L. Smith joined the USC Annenberg faculty in fall 2003. Her research focuses on children’s responses to mass media portrayals (television, film, video games) of violence, gender, and hypersexuality.


Thomas-HollihanThomas Hollihan

Thomas Hollihan is an author and professor of communication at the USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism. He publishes in the areas of argumentation, political campaign communication, contemporary rhetorical criticism and the impact of globalization on public deliberation.